“The only thing better than singing is more singing” – Ella Fitzgerald

http://science.howstuffworks.com/life/singing-happy1.htm

For those of you who don’t know, I sing.  Not just in the shower or in the car… singing is one of my biggest passions.  Ever since I was a little girl, singing was my out.  I would get stressed or sad, like any normal kid, and I’d sing.  I’d find a quiet place… usually in my parents back yard; we had a BEAUTIFUL memorial garden for my grandmother who died when I was 5… filled with the most wonderful flowers, ornaments of love and hope, and a “hope bench” with her name engraved on it.  I would plop my little butt right down on that bench and sing my heart out until I felt better.  To my surprise, it worked… every.single.time.  24 years later (yes, that would make me 29) I still sing. I’ve gone on tour with choirs, I sang the national anthem at my High School graduation @ Towson University’s (blanking out… arena? maybe?!)  in front of thousands of friends and family, I’ve been on national television with the Syracuse Children’s Choir, but nothing give me the same type of relief as singing, alone.  

Yesterday, I got a not so nice phone call from one of my doctors… so the next few weeks are going to be pretty stressful.  What did I do? (well, after crying a bit) I sang.  Yes, I was at work.  I marched into the furthest stairwell and started singing; 

I sing because I’m happy, 

I sing because I’m free

His eye is on the sparrow

and I know He watches me.

After about 5 minutes, I felt better.  I know the song itself didn’t do anything, but I believe the act of singing is healing to me. Call me crazy, but for the better part of three decades, it’s been working.  And at this point in my life, I’m glad I have something, none medicated, to help me relieve stress 🙂 Thank goodness God blessed me with a pretty good voice too, otherwise the people that lived next door to me growing up would have smiled a lot less. 🙂

Image

Leave a Reply

