First day back… #postop #runchat

Ok!!!  Hi!!!  Been a while.  The procedure went…  OK.  Not nearly as well as I would have liked, but it was still informative.  The doctor has ideas and I came out with a secondary diagnosis… soooo that’s something right?  :-/   I just wish I’d come out with a cure.  (Don’t we all though?)  So, we’re going to try alternative treatments before the big and final surgery that I don’t even want to talk about.  Even thinking about it brings tears to my eyes… So… yea.  *PLOT CHANGE!*  After being off work recovering from surgery all week, I can tell you with 100% honesty… I don’t want to be here (at work).  But as an adult, we have to do things, sometimes, that we’d rather… not.  The paycheck also helps… a bit.  For the time being, I’ll sit at my little desk, with the heating pad on its highest setting, and pray for time to speed on by… Come on 2:50pm!!  (Yea, I got her a bit late… not trying to be a hero… 4:30am wake up just was NOT happening today).  I was, however, greeted with a very kind little gift upon arrival… 

Image

Not sure if you can read the card, “Hope you’re feeling better Stacey!”.  Inside the card, are signatures from all the wonderful ladies I work with, and that chocolate bar… (yep, Ghirardelli *drool*) is pretty freaking hefty!!  Put a genuine smile on my face when I got to my desk. 🙂  Something that didn’t need to be done, but was very nice nonetheless. 🙂 

The pain from the procedure itself has drastically improved… I’m just sore… to the point of obnoxiousness.  Every time I cough I double over, every time I take a deep breath, my upper body aches… I mean c’mon!!!  Give me a freaking break guys!!  Granted, it’s only been 4 days, but, I’m not the type of patient who likes to wait to heal.  I’m an athlete… I’ve got sh*t to do!!!  lol.  Sorry… Speaking of said sh*t; I played volleyball last night… not my brightest idea, but I played.  No, I didn’t get hurt… because I played smart.  I may be a hard ass and want to get back out there as soon as humanly possible, but I know my limits.  I played until the incisions started to burn, then rotated out.  But… I.still.played.  That is was matters to me!!  The fact that 3 days post op, my little behind was on that court with my team, jumping around, smacking the ball like there was nothing wrong with me is pretty awesome, I think.  Yes, I’ll admit, I could have done more “diving” and more advanced moves, but I’m not about to pop a stitch and bleed out on the turf… 

Image

lmao… too perfect.  Anyway.  I played the best I could, and ended up with a bruise RIGHT on top of the IV site (which was already healing)… so I think I did pretty well if I STILL walked away with a war wound, yes??  Next week is play offs and I’ll be in MUST better condition then.  Shoot, I’ll have this Saturday’s epic Sole Of The City 10K from Charm City Run under my belt… that realistically, I will not be PR’ing… 😦  (once again, not trying to be a hero, just want to finish in one piece.)  So I will be MUCH more prepared for next weeks play off game.  But the bruise however, is a pain in the *&%(^$… 

Image

Just… I mean… really?  There?  I can’t even put my freaking watch, or hair tie, or fitbit, or ANYTHING there now… *grumble grumble*  OK… off my little grumble box.  I hope everyone has an AMAZING Friday and an even more amazing weekend.  If anyone else is running, I hope you guys run safe and happy.  Maybe even PR??? 😉  And as always, stay happy and healthy!!!  Much love! ❤

2 thoughts on “First day back… #postop #runchat

  1. Hope you feel better soon! Maybe I will run into you tomorrow at Sole of the City. I would love to PR tomorrow but I don’t think its in the cards, but like always I am just happy to finish! Have a great weekend yourself!

Leave a Reply

