Happy #NationalRunningDay!!

This is the first year I consider myself an legit (yes I just used that word… *shame*) runner… so today is like a holiday for me!!  I should have taken off work… darn it!!! Anyway, “National Running Day, held annually on the first Wednesday in June, is a day when runners everywhere declare their passion for running. It is a coast-to-coast celebration of a sport and activity that’s simple, inexpensive and fun. It’s the perfect way for longtime runners to reaffirm their love of running and for beginners to kick off a lifetime of life-changing commitment.”  This is the 6th annual National Running Day!!! Geeze am I behind the times… eh well, better late then never!!!  I’m super excited to run today, more so then the past few days (of my newly started runstreak… today is day 5!) because today is special.  Today is a day for us, for the runners.  So today I want you to think (if you’re a runner) why you run.  For me there are many reasons, but one sticks out more than anything else…

Image

I run for people that; for illness, disability, or whatever other reason, cannot run.  As you know (if you’ve read my blog before) I was deeply saddened by the bombing of the 117th Boston Marathon in 2013.  In fact, two days later is when I laced up my running shoes for the first time since college.  I realized, many of those people will never be able to run again… and for them I will run.  I will run until my legs can no longer carry me.  

Other reasons I run are much less “deep” but are still very important… 

  1. I run for my son.  I want him to see me… I want him to know that it’s possible to do whatever you want as long as your heart is in it.  I love his face when he sees me cross the finish line at races.  He’s a HUGE motivator for me. 🙂
  2. I run for my health.  Running is cheaper then therapy and medication.  Lets face it… it lowers cholesterol, blood pressure, the chances of heart conditions (those that aren’t genetic), and it makes me not want to punch random people in the face. 😉
  3. I run to stay sexy!! (I’m only half kidding…) Runners are HOT!! Come on now… we are. Runner legs and runner butt… you can’t tell me I’m wrong… you just can’t!! (yea, I’m giggling too)
  4. I run to be free… (hence my “name” on every social media website) I never feel more free then when I run.  For that brief moment in time, it’s just me and the road… NOTHING else.  I’m free. 

Why do you run?? Have a WONDERFUL National Running Day!! I hope to log at least 3 miles in today (still sore from my half this past weekend) How many miles do you want to get it??? And as always, stay happy and healthy!! ❤

2 thoughts on “Happy #NationalRunningDay!!

Leave a Reply

