My 4th 1/2 this weekend…. #runbaltimore #oiselleteam

So, this weekend is my 4th half marathon, the Frederick Running Festival.  If you’ve been following my blog for a bit, you know this is my second time running this race. The first time was my first half – ever, last year. You can read my recap here if you’re interested. 🙂  Am I prepared?  No.  Will I finish? Of course.  Will this race be as special as last year? Yes.  Why? This year, instead of running my FIRST half marathon, I’m pacing my father for HIS first half!!  Also, this year, instead of staying at a hotel, I’ll  be staying with my Dad the night before.  He lives closer to Frederick then I do.  (I live in Baltimore.)

Why am I not prepared… hmm… I could make excuses all day and they’d be pretty good ones… but it all comes down to me not getting my ass out and running.  My longest training run for this 1/2 was a 10k… a race.  Also (ha, check this list out…)

  • I’m in the process of buying a home
  • I’m having a small procedure two days prior to the race
  • I’ve been battling an ongoing sinus infection for 3 weeks
  • I recently moved EVERYTHING of mine out of my ex husbands place
  • My son is testing for early admission to Kindergarten (he’s 4)

So, yes, all excuses that shouldn’t have anything to do with me slacking off on training… but they did.  *smack on the wrist*. My Dad is a beast.  Again, for people that frequent this blog… he kicks my tail OFTEN at races.  I usually can’t keep up.  But!!! The beast pushed a bit too far and pulled his groin… so this turtle (me) is going to help pace him to a SAFE finish for his first half.   Both my father and I are competitive.  (I blame him for my constant need to compete… its a good thing, don’t worry!)  But we also both understand the need for safety and are smart enough to know when to stop pushing.

I’m beyond excited to run/walk this race with my father by my side.  He’s only started running in June of last year (a 5k), and for him to be completing a half with me this weekend fills my heart with joy.   Will we see you there?  What are YOU running this weekend?  🙂

2 thoughts on “My 4th 1/2 this weekend…. #runbaltimore #oiselleteam

  1. Way to go! I recently just got into running half marathons and such in the last couple years, but I’ve always had a hard time getting out and doing some hard core training. Life is just so busy… Who’s got time to go running for an hour every day! I think the longest training run I’ve ever done was maybe 10 miles. And that was a rare case. But at least I still get out and do something, unlike everyone else who would rather sit on the couch and watch TV all day. Good luck!

    –Sarah

    What other half marathons have you done?

  2. I’ll be there! This is my second half – the Frederick 5K was my first 5K last year so this is bringing it all home…plus I grew up in Frederick.

    That’s so sweet that you’ll be pacing your dad. A very special race for sure no matter how prepared you don’t think you are. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

