Freekeh Review! #sweatpink #freekehfoods

I was given the opportunity to try and to give away Freekeh for being a SweatPink ambassador! Never heard of Freekeh?  I hadn’t either, but I was eager to try!!  Thanks to Freekeh-Foods and FitApproach, I was able to do just that! I was given a rosemary packet and an original.  Because I knew I’d be mixing it with Chicken, I used the rosemary pouch.

I ended up making a DELICIOUS chicken-freekeh soup with shredded chicken, green onion, fresh garlic, freekeh, and assorted spices.  It was quite spot on actually.

But let me tell you more about Freekeh before I share more about the recipe!  What is Freekeh? Freekeh is a process which means “to rub” in Arabic. Freekeh was created by accident nearly 2,000 years ago when a Middle Eastern village was attacked and their crop of young green wheat was set ablaze. Most folks would sulk over their misfortune, but the crafty villagers rubbed off the chaff, cooked it up and “Eureka!” Freekeh was created.

Freekeh is an ancient roasted grain that is a great improvement to rice or other grains. It has an awesome nutty, chewy texture. We offer it organically in 3 varieties: Original, Rosemary Sage and Tamari. What’s more, freekeh has up to 3 times the amount of fiber and protein as brown rice.  Freekeh is also naturally low in sodium and vegan! (it’s also delicious!)

I initially had no idea what to do with this grain sitting in from of me.  So, I looked for recipes on the trusty internet! I found an amazing one for soup and decided to make it my own a bit.  In the original recipe found here she used potatoes, chickpeas and carrots.  I wanted to make a bit of a simpler soup, so I nixed all three! Whenever I cook, I like simplicity.  If I try to go crazy, it ends up disastrous!

I used:

  • 2 pounds of shredded chicken
  • 4 cups chicken broth (made from hot water and bullion)
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • Green onion, chopped
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/2 cup Rosemary Freekeh (2 servings)
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 3 tablespoons of fresh parsley
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Absolutely delicious!! The end product made for an excellent “homey” soup that took me back to when I was a little girl and my Yiayia used to make Greek chicken soup with Orzo.  The best part though, my picky 4 yr old approved!! That made this mama EXTREMELY pleased!!  Also, Freekeh has three times more protein then regular brown rice! According to the website, Freekeh is comparable to Quinoa in protein and fiber. Win Win! Check out these nutritional facts about the Rosemary Freekeh.

rosemary

I would definitely recommend Freekeh especially as fall approaches.  You don’t have to use it in soup to enjoy.  there are SO many exciting recipes available and I’m super excited to use the rest in a completely different way! 🙂

Have you ever tried Freekeh?  How do you make your chicken soup?

Leave a Reply

